Google is updating its policies for consumer accounts, effective from June 1 2021. The new policies are for consumer accounts that are either inactive or over their storage limit across Gmail, Drive and/or Photos. If you have been inactive in Gmail, Drive or Photos for 2 years, the company may delete the content in the product in which you are inactive. If you're over quota for 24 months, your content may be impacted. You can always free up space through the Google One storage manager and within the products themselves. The company said it will notify users multiple times before attempting to remove any content.
The simplest way to keep your account active is to periodically visit Gmail, Drive or Photos on the web or mobile.
In a sad news for millions of people around the world, Google announced that Google Photos will no longer offer unlimited free storage for your “high quality” photos from next year. Starting June 1, 2021, any new photos and videos you upload will count toward the free 15 GB of storage that comes with every Google Account or the additional storage you’ve purchased as a Google One member.
We know this is a big shift and may come as a surprise, so we wanted to let you know well in advance and give you resources to make this easier.
Google Photos currently offers the following backup options:
- Unlimited high quality storage for free.
- Express quality storage for free (available in select markets).
- Original quality storage for free up to 15 GB (shared across Photos, Gmail and Drive), with additional storage available as part of Google One.
Any photos or videos you’ve uploaded in High quality before June 1, 2021 will not count toward your 15GB of free storage. This means that photos and videos backed up before June 1, 2021 will still be considered free and exempt from the storage limit.
From 1 June 2021, high quality and express quality content will count towards your Google Account storage. Once you reach your storage limit, you can either subscribe to Google One (where available) for additional storage or delete content in order to continue with the free storage option in Photos. If your account is provided through your work, school, family or other group, you may be affected depending on your plan.
There’s no action you need to take today
This change does not take effect for another six months, so you don’t need to do anything right now. And once this change does take effect on June 1, 2021, over 80 percent of you should still be able to store roughly three more years worth of memories with your free 15 GB of storage. As your storage nears 15 GB, Google will notify you in the app and follow up by email.
Understand and manage your quota
To understand how this impacts you, you can see a personalized estimate(https://photos.google.com/storage) for how long your storage may last. This estimate takes into account how frequently you back up photos, videos and other content to your Google Account.
In June 2021, you’ll be able to access a new free tool in the Photos app to easily manage your backed up photos and videos. This tool will help you review the memories you want to keep while also surfacing shots you might prefer to delete, like dark or blurry photos or large videos.
Refer More From Below Link:-